IndyCar Racing

IndyCar Racing

What is IndyCar racing?

The IndyCar Series is the category of single-seaters most famous of the United States, which arose initially been under the name Indy Racing League to the year of 1996 in the suit to the discrepancy by the policies with the organization CART. The IndyCar Series became a competition alternates, and that could compete against the category sister and to be able to contest races on circuits of type oval, at least in its beginnings. In 2008, when the Champ Car (formerly CART) was in bankruptcy and merged (or reunited) with the IndyCar championship, was enriched again with competitions in circuits of permanent and street courses.
The championship is part of the history of American Championship Cars which has formed the basis of the history of the championships predecessors (National Championship of the AAA (1905-1955).

The National Championship of the USAC (1956-1983), and CART/Champ Car World Series (1978-2008)), making it among the series of championships that you follow the lineage of the American series of competitions organized by different entities throughout its history among the oldest in the world. However, since the governing body was founded in 1996 after the division of the series (1996-2008), as the governing body of the series, the governing body does not become the oldest body in the world for organizational reasons.

p>Much of the prestige of this championship comes from its 500-mile Indianapolis trials, and the entire championship revolves around that race. In the beginning, all the championship dates were run in ovals, where the average speed of 350 km/h is exceeded. Since the 2005 season, urban circuits and autodromes have been incorporated, which exceed in quantity the OVA as of 2010.

The Indy Racing League was created when businessman Tony George, the owner of Indianapolis Motor Speedway, decided to separate from the CART, the organization that had sanctioned the IndyCar World Series since 1979, mainly because it disagreed with the policy of introducing more mixed circuits to the detriment of the ovals and the increasing participation of foreign pilots. It was also argued that, like Formula 1, CART had become too technological and dominated by wealthy equipment at the expense of the most artisanal.

The series was outlined to attract the best American drivers, with a car regulation that required lower budgets and produced more contested race finals than other series. It should be noted that USAC was the 500-mile Indianapolis monitoring body and IRL has been doing so since mid-1997. The USAC was criticized for the two controversial races in Indianapolis and Texas. In the 81st edition of the Indianapolis 500 where there were 35 cars (instead of 33). There was a contentious race finale where Tony Stewart hit the wall with three laps left for the goal causing the yellow flag to be removed but not the pace car, and so the last lap was relaunched along with the white flag. In the next race, in Texas, the USAC recognized erroneously as the winner Billy Boat, and when Arie Luyendyk (the real winner) was to a protester in victory lane, he was assaulted by A. J. Foyt (chief of the Boat and the owner of the team) and came away with the trophy of a winner.

When the USAC acknowledged its error due to a failure in timing systems in which it pointed out that Luyendyk was the legitimate winner. Given the controversy of Indianapolis and Texas, the USAC was removed as inspector of the series and since then the series overseeing the careers.